The Magic Within You. Let’s Play!

Photo from Pixabay.com
Photo from Pixabay.com

Once you make a decision, the universe conspires to make it happen. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Have you any idea how powerful you truly are? Any idea of the magic and abilities lying dormant within you? From a young age we are told by our parents that magic isn’t real, by the church that it’s evil, by our teachers that it’s wasteful and impractical. And slowly, that magic spark inside of you was tamped down and tucked away where no one could see it, and until even you no longer believed.

The thing is, this spark is at the core of who we really are. We are 7 billion parts of the whole encompassing all of the qualities of the all that is. We are creator beings by our very nature and not one of us is lacking. We’ve just forgotten.

So how do we create? Well, you’ve been doing it your whole life. You’ve created everything that exists in your space, the good, the bad, and the ugly. “What!?” you say, “I didn’t create all of this awful stuff I don’t like in my life.” Yes. You did. Accepting responsibility for everything that exists in your reality is the single most important and empowering thing you can do. Empowering because once you’ve accepted that you created it, naturally it follows that you have the ability to uncreate it, or choose differently. This is awesome right. All of your life, and what it is and isn’t, rests in your hands, Wow, how powerful are you. (As I’m writing this, I’m picturing a wizard with a ball of energy in his outstretched hand. “Bwahahaha I’m taking over the world!” But let’s not go that far right now, let’s just focus on our own reality at the moment.)

So what exactly is this law of attraction we hear about all the time now? Looking around the internet, I found this quote by Thomas Troward on Wikipedia “the action of Mind plants that nucleus which, if allowed to grow undisturbed, will eventually attract to itself all of the conditions for it’s manifestations in outward physical form.” Or more simply put in one of my favorite sayings “What you think about you bring about.”

The Secret is a great movie about the law of attraction. If you haven’t seen it yet, you can watch it here.

I have to admit it took me a long time to wrap my brain around this. I understood the concept, but not how to apply it in real life. One of the biggest mistakes I was making was focusing too much on what I didn’t want. The universe doesn’t work in negatives. Whether you want it or you don’t, that’s what you’re going to get. It’s important to always phrase your requests and choices in the positive. An example: I want positive people in my life. Not I don’t want negative people in my life.

Over the last few years I’ve gotten pretty successful at using the law of attraction. My little yorkie is a great example of this law in action. Walking around the flea market with my husband in September 2012, I was really enjoying all the little dogs with their owners. I decided then and there that day I wanted a little dog of my own. I phrased my request to the universe and put it out there. I then said ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ as though this gift had already been received. (I wasn’t real specific here. I was leaning towards a bull dog or a pug, but left it open.) Three months later, in December, my husband received a text from a friend looking for a home for the cutest little yorkie and I knew she was the one.

It’s pretty awesome to know that if I want something, all I have to do is ask for it and it appears. It doesn’t happen overnight. My example above took three months after all, but the response time is becoming faster the more I work with it. I’ve had things happen as quickly as the very next day. It seems the larger the request is, the longer it takes. I think this is my belief causing it though and not necessarily the way it works.

I could go on and on with examples. Once, I decided I wanted a chair for my living room. Not just any chair. Specifically a chocolate brown brushed suede chaise lounge. A few days later my dad pulls up to my house with that exact chair in the bed of his truck and says “Hey, my buddy’s getting rid of this, thought you might like it.” Are you kidding me? You just never know how or when things are coming your way but they always do and it’s so amazing and exciting when it happens.

Let’s play a game.

Let’s have some fun with this universal law of attraction. Pick something you’d like to have or something you’d like to see happen. Let’s keep it simple and personal for now. A certain book, a purple lollipop, out to dinner, an up front parking space at Walmart. You get the idea, whatever you want. Now, phrase your request to the universe in the positive. “I would like a purple lollipop please and thank you.” (How many purple lollipops am I going to end up with here I wonder.)

The next step is to relax and simply allow this to come to you. Don’t worry about how. That’s already taken care of. You cannot approach this with a negative attitude. Trust the universe and yourself to create what you really want. More importantly, have fun with it. And once you get the little stuff down, go for the bigger things. A car, a house, a trip, a major life change. Isn’t this exciting! Just imagine what you can do!

Let me know what you’ve chosen and how it works out. Just remember, don’t give up if you don’t get what you asked for immediately. It may take some time. Happy creating!

Wishing you a magic filled day,

BethAnne

One thought on “The Magic Within You. Let’s Play!

Leave a Reply

